Yoga-yolk,union…YES!

Standard

So you decided to expand your knowledge and sign up for teacher training huh? Well get ready, you are in for a treat!

This day reminds me of my first day of Maha Shakti Teacher Training last year. I was so nervous, I could hardly sleep the night before… no really, I was excited and anxious and very self conscious of my yoga practice. As I looked around the room at these beautiful yogini (we had no boys that round) I thought, “what am I doing here? These ladies obviously know more than I do about , well, EVERYTHING”! I was like a kid in kindergarten… sizing everyone up, figuring out who they were before they even opened their mouths… BOY, WAS I WRONG about everyone of them! I don’t mean I was being necessarily critical, just thinking I could tell who was whom just by observing them. What actually happened was this, this group, or KULA as we were called, transformed me.

Now, I work with people very closely every day, but it had been a long time since I was EXPOSED.

When Adri and Amy told us to find a partner and start teaching her yoga… I froze. I lost my words. I forgot how to do any of the postures. Gone from my brain was everything I knew about my own practice… I was self conscious about everything… My brain said” your’re too old to start this thing, stick with what you know, you don’t have the body for a yoga instructor, what makes you so special that someone would want to learn this  from you?”  Panic.

I went home and didn’t sleep , I kept playing my day over and over. Then it hit me… “I don’t KNOW this”.  That’s it, simply put, it had been a very long time since those words have rang in my ear… like learning a different language, or a new dance step…  and then having to teach it to someone else! UGH!

Well, I will spare you the long story although it didn’t take that long actually. I overcame my stagefright, I started feeling alot less self conscious and I am actually starting to teach yoga this month at the City of Dallas Churchill Recreation center as an independant vendor, all thanks to Adri and Amy and their Maha Shakti Teacher Training that made me the teacher on the first day.  Yes I survived …and thrived!

…and so will you!

Namaste New Maha Shakti Teacher TrainersThe New Teachers in action

What do you think?

